Make your own free website on
Mann for School Board     |     home
MoveOn & Win Without War   |   PR Liasons and Spokespersons for MoveOn Iraq Campaign   |   MoveOn: Internet fundraiser for Democratic Party   |   Press Coverage of MoveOn's Iraq Meetings / Aug 28, 2002   |   MoveOn Press Release 8.27.02   |   Press Release: Launch of Win Without War 12.11.02   |   Petition: Artists Say Win Without War   |   MoveOn Press Release: "Let the inspections work." 01.21.03   |   MoveOn Petition: Support French-German proposal for additional inspections

Petition: Artists Say Win Without War

TO: President Bush
SUBJECT: Artists Say Win Without War
War talk in Washington is alarming and unnecessary.
We are patriotic Americans who share the belief that Saddam Hussein cannot be allowed to possess weapons of mass destruction. We support rigorous UN weapons inspections to assure Iraq's effective disarmament.

However, a pre-emptive military invasion of Iraq will harm American national interests . Such a war will increase human suffering, arouse animosity toward our country, increase the likelihood of terrorist attacks, damage the economy, and undermine our moral standing in the world. It will make us less, not more, secure.

We reject the doctrine--a reversal of long-held American tradition--that our country, alone, has the right to launch first-strike attacks.

The valid U.S. and UN objective of disarming Saddam Hussein can be achieved through legal diplomatic means. There is no need for war. Let us instead devote our resources to improving the security and well-being of people here at home and around the world.


Artists for Winning Without War

Mike Farrell, Co-Chair
Robert Greenwald, Co-Chair
Gillian Anderson
Edward Asner
Rene Auberjonois
David Bale
Kim Basinger
Ed Begley, Jr.
Theo Bikel
Barbara Bosson
Jackson Browne
Peter Buck (REM)
Diahann Carroll
Eugene J. Carroll, Jr.,
Rear Adm. U.S. Navy (Ret.)
Kathleen Chalfant
Don Cheadle
Jill Clayburgh
David Clennon
Jack Coleman
Peter Coyote
Lindsay Crouse
Suzanne Cryer
Matt Damon
Dana Daurey
Ambassador Jonathan Dean
(U.S. Rep. to NATO
Warsaw Pact)
Vincent D’Onofrio
David Duchovny
Olympia Dukakis
Charles S. Dutton
Hector Elizondo
Cary Elwes
Shelley Fabares
Mike Farrell
Mia Farrow
Laurence Fishburne
Sean Patrick Flanery
 Bonnie Franklin
John Fugelsang
Jeananne Garafalo
Larry Gelbart
Melissa Gilbert
Danny Glover
Elliott Gould
Samaria Graham
Robert Greenwald
Robert Guillaume
Paul Haggis
Robert David Hall
Ethan Hawke
Ken Howard
Helen Hunt
Anjelica Huston
LaTanya Richardson Jackson
Samuel L. Jackson
Jane Kaczmarek
Melina Kanakaredes
Casey Kasem
Mimi Kennedy
Jessica Lange
Tea Leoni
Wendie Malick
Camryn Manheim
Marsha Mason
Richard Masur
Dave Matthews
Kent McCord
Robert Duncan McNeill
Mike Mills (REM)
Janel Moloney
Esai Morales
Ed O'’Neill
Chris Noth
Peter Onorati
Alexandra Paul
 Ambassador Edward Peck
(former U.S. Ambassador
to Iraq)
Seth Peterson
CCH Pounder
David Rabe
Alan Rachins
Bonnie Raitt
Carl Reiner
Tim Robbins
Steve Robinson,
Sgt., U.S. Army (Ret.)
Mitch Ryan
Susan Sarandon
Tony Shalhoub
Jack Shanahan,
Vice Adm. U.S. Navy (Ret.)
William Schallert
Martin Sheen
Armin Shimerman
Gloria Steinem
Marcia Strassman
Michael Stipe (REM)
Susan Sullivan
Loretta Swit
Studs Terkel
Lily Tomlin
Blair Underwood
Dennis Weaver
Bradley Whitford
James Whitmore
James Whitmore, Jr.
Alfre Woodard
Noah Wyle
Peter Yarrow
Howard Zinn